Skip to main content
Feature Image

Six Lansdowne representatives on Leinster Metro Shane Horgan Cup side

November 01, 2023 786 Views

The second round of the BearingPoint Shane Horgan Cup will take place at Mullingar RFC on Wednesday afternoon.

METRO v MIDLANDS, Mullingar RFC 1pm.
Metro must have viewed the 33-14 defeat to South-East as a missed opportunity given how they built a 14-point lead.

It was disappointing to see how their defence could not use the confidence taken in attack to withstand pressure.

In the back division, there is just one change. Alex Bulmer comes in on the right wing as half-backs Thibaut Anderson and Donnacha Cunningham look to build on their rapport.

Tight-head Cillian Maher is the only difference in the pack where hooker Harry Heaghney and loose forwards Conor Wolfe and Jack Power will look to lead from the front.

The Midlands were no match for neighbours North Midlands in the first round, failing to register even a score.

It will take all the skills of the coaching crew to reshake their confidence. It is just as well Metro will be in a similar situation.

Prop Jack Phelan, locks Conor Walshe and Ben Smith and flanker Daniel Leavy are the four alterations up front.
The introduction of Cian Campbell at out-half to partner Conor Clarke might just hint at a change of game plan.

METRO: Ollie Higgins (Lansdowne); Alex Bulmer (Malahide), David Cronn (DLSP), Bruce Flegg (Old Belvedere), Roan Smyth (Seapoint); Thibaut Anderson (Seapoint), Donnachadh Cunningham (DLSP); Cormac Horan (Westmanstown), Harry Heagney (Clontarf), Killian Maher (Clontarf), Ben Connell (St Marys), Nathan Byrne (DLSP), Conor Wolfe (DLSP), Christian Sinclair (Lansdowne), Jack Power (MU Barnhall).

Replacements: Donal Clarke (Lansdowne), Aron O’Connor Casey (Clontarf), John Gorman (Lansdowne), Daniel Hall Mehigan (Lansdowne), Ross Carey (DLSP), Cillian Murphy (Westmanstown), Ruairi Maher (Westmanstown), Mathis Padidleau (Lansdowne), Conor Brennan (MU Barnhall).

MIDLANDS: Oran Finlay (Tullamore); Aidan Kelly (Longford), Alex Bagnall (Edenderry), Conor Casey (Mullingar), Joel Gyasi (Longford); Kian Campbell (Mullingar), Conor Clarke (Longford); Jack Phelan (Roscrea), MJ Darby (Tullamore), Callum Quinn (Mullingar), Conor Walshe (Mullingar), Ben Smith (Mullingar), Daniel Leavy (Tullamore), Isaac O’Neill (Mullingar), Daniel Corr (Longford).

Replacements: Cillian Gleeson (Roscrea), Darragh Finnegan (Longford), Riain Gorman (Edenderry), Ryan Dixon (North Kildare), Donnacha Ryan (Tullamore), Daithi Guinan (Tullamore), Callum Brennan (Tullamore), Alex O’Brien )Tullamore).

FT SCORE Leinster Metro 17- Midlands 7