Skip to main content

Ladies and Gents,

It’s my pleasure and an honor to have been elected as President of LFC for the current season 22/23 which is our “150th.” our “sesquicentennial “.

As many of you are aware, Michael Diskin tendered his resignation in the early Summer, we wish him well in the future and thank him for all his great work. I’m delighted to officially announce that Elayne Power, who most of you know, has been appointed General Manager. Elayne is currently, working with Conor Shaw, trying to find a replacement for her previous role.

I think you’ll all agree that we’re lucky to have such a capable person running the club and I wish her well. On Elayne’s team is Dave Mangan, Bar Manager and Louis Preston, Mr Fixit, two long time loyal servants of LFC.

As with any rugby club, rugby is the priority and we’re very lucky to have four really capable guys on our Executive who are driving our Rugby program Senior Vice President Stephen Rooney, he might get out the shorts for his presidency, Enda Bohan, our Chairman of Rugby, John Sparks, Junior Rugby, Brian Moran, Mini rugby. This guys represent us really well and do a mountain of voluntary work, we’re lucky to have them.

The other members of the Executive Committee are , Conor Shaw, Junior Vice President, Kieran Walsh, Hon Sec., Karl Cleere, Hon Tres., great workers who do untold work behind the scenes.

Here’s a list of the guys involved with the various teams.

Senior XV.

Mark McHugh ( Head Coach)

Phil Horan ( forwards Coach)

Damien McCabe ( backs coach)

Mark Flanagan ( lineout)

Paddy Gore ( Manager/Kit/Logistics )

Foster Horan and Eoghan O’Sullivan ( Physios )

Stephen Rooney  ( VP and Director of senior Rugby )


Mark Roche ( Head Coach )

Conor Nugent ( Forwards )

John Kilroy  ( Manager )

Mick Quinn ( Manager)

Physio TBC


Mark McMahon Director of U20 Rugby

Declan Fassbender Head Coach Prem A.

Charlie Doel ( forwards Coach )

Rhys Ruddock ( defense and lineouts )

Aishling Frawley ( Physio )

Adam Curry  ( head coach Prem B )

Bryan Mollen ( backs coach )

John Nolan and Guy Fagan ( team Managers )

J2 / J3/ J4

Ian Hopkins ( director of junior rugby )

Brian Whelan ( manager )

Ross Barry ( head Coach )

Dave Tunney ( Coach )

Mark Quinn ( Coach )

John Sparks ( Coach )

James Caslin ( Manager)

Shane D’Alton ( Coach )

Darragh Mangan and Ian Hickey ( Physios)


Dan Moore  ( Lead and Senior XV )

Luke Thompson ( U20)

Bryan Mollen ( Senior squad )

Mini/ Youth

Matt Bruton U18.5

Paul Nagle U17

Hugh McGauran U16

Oliver Padioleau U15

James Fegan  U14

Simon McDowell U13

David McKeown U12

Janet Trehy U11

Conor Gahan U10

Sebastian Orsi U9

Gavin Lee U8

Mark Quinn U7/6


As you can see, putting all this together is a major logistical exercise, so well done to all. There will be a wine and cheese/get together for the mini rugby parents some time at the end of Sept. TBC.

We have formed four new sub Committees reporting directly to the Executive, we feel these committees will be of great assistance to Elayne and it also gets more volunteers involved in the running of the club.

  1. Ticketing Committee, Chair Dermot McCarron.
  2. House Committee, Chair Simon Coyle
  3. Membership Committee, Colin Murtagh.
  4. Commercial and Marketing, John Quinn.

The Chairmen are free to co-opt anyone they think fit for purpose and who’ll make a difference. Any member who would like to sponsor something John Quinn is your man.

I would also like to show my appreciation to Alan Cuffe, Gates on AIL days, Michael O’Brien, photography, Cathal Boyle, social media, John Delaney our club PRO and Ricky Geraghty, Fixture Secretary and Noel Boyle, Registrations Officer, who looks after all the senior club registrations ,  as they say “ these things don’t just happen”.

Obviously this is a big year for the club celebrating the “ sesquicentennial “ and it needs to be celebrated but we also need all of the above to happen, so it was decided to separate the running of the club from the “ sesquicentennial “ celebrations.

Michael Ryan undertook the role as Chair, to keep an eye on all of us, the following people came on Board to help out

  1. Michael Kearney (150 Ball )
  2. John Kearney ( the Match v Irish Universities )
  3. Mark Dawson ( The History Book )
  4. Ciaran O’Reilly ( Business Lunch )
  5. Simon Coyle ( Golf )
  6. Stephen Tunney ( Organizer of the Launch )
  7. Brian Sparks
  8. Joe Leddin
  9. Colin Goode

This committee has been meeting for well over a year and great work has been achieved.

Here’s a list of the upcoming events.

  1. The Launch of the 150th. season by the Minister of Sport Jack Chambers, in conjunction with the History book Launch. This evening is sponsored by Westridge ( Shane Whelan ). The book “ Lansdowne a History “ written by Ivar McGrath is sponsored by David and Cathy Shubotham.
  2. The Gala Ball on Sat 1st. Oct is sponsored by Ardagh ( Paul Coulson )
  3. The Match on Dec 17th. is sponsored by Oisin O’Buachalla and Tony Garry.
  4. The Business lunch on 20th. Jan 23  is sponsored by MMPI
  5. The Golf on 19th. May 23 is sponsored by Eddie O’Connor.

There’s a huge amount of people working on the Gala Ball, Scott Deasy, Rosie Dawson, Joe Leddin, Brian McDermott, Luke Healy, Elayne Power, Collette O’Malley, Brian Moran, Frank Kenny, Derry Shaw, Doug Leddin, Oisin O’Buachalla and John Conmee. My thanks to one and all.

I hope to see as many of you as possible at some of our upcoming events , particularly the matches Senior and Junior.

Two things to note from the Executive.




Michael Dawson

President 2022-23

Lansdowne Football Club

Leave a Reply