Taking too long? Close loading screen.

About The Club

Lansdowne Football Club was founded in 1872 by Henry Dunlop, a noted athlete of his time. From its earliest days as the Irish Champions Athletic Club, Lansdowne emerged from quite modest beginnings – it was widely regarded as Trinity’s second string for several years – to establish itself as one of the top clubs in Ireland, attracting players from all corners of the country and beyond.

The Club’s playing colours are black, red and yellow hoops, with navy shorts. To date, 105 Lansdowne players have won international caps, including many famous names in Irish rugby, including: Moss Keane, Eugene Davy, Ernie Crawford, Ned Lightfoot, Mick Dunne, Jack Arigho, Morgan Crowe, Robin Roe, Mick English, Pat Casey, Sean MacHale, Gordon Wood, Alan “Dixie” Duggan, Barry McGann, Mick Quinn, Noel Manion, Eric Elwood, Philip Danaher, Michael Kiernan (dropped the goal to win the 1985 Triple Crown), Conor O’Shea, Donal and Dick Spring (former Tanaiste), Michael Gibson, Des Fitzgerald and, of course, the great Con Murphy (the only player to represent Ireland both before and after the 2nd World War).

Con was captain of the famous Irish team which defeated England 22-0 in the first official post-war international in 1947. The Lansdowne Club has also supplied 14 British and Irish Lions, from Lawrence Bulger in 1896 to Shane Horgan and Gordon D’Arcy in New Zealand in 2005. Felipe Contepomi of Argentina became the Club’s 99th overall and first Overseas international. More recent internationals include Devin Toner, Marty Moore, Jordi Murphy, David Kearney, Dominic Ryan and Matt Healy, while Cian Aherne,  Tom Daly, Ian Fitzpatrick, John O’Donnell and Mark Roche have all been capped at 7’s international level in the past few seasons.

On two occasions in 1931, Lansdowne supplied the entire Irish three-quarter line (Jack Arigho, Eugene Davy, Morgan Crowe and Ned Lightfoot), one of only three clubs ever to have done so at international level world-wide. Lansdowne have won the Leinster Senior Cup a record 26 times, as well as winning 10 Leinster Senior League titles. The Club has produced 14 Presidents of the IRFU and holds the unique distinction of having won the Leinster Senior Cup in three centuries.

Since the Club’s first Senior Cup victory in 1891, Lansdowne have won a total of 152 Leinster Branch trophies as well as 11 national titles – more than any other club. Success in the All Ireland League came in the 2013 and 2015 seasons, and the Club topped the League in the 2016-17 season, losing narrowly in the semi-final to Cork Con, the eventual winners.

The Club caters for players at all levels, and currently fields four senior teams, as well as a successful Under 20’s side (they have won three All Ireland Club titles and are the current holders of the Leinster League).

Mini and Youth Rugby also flourishes in the Club, with teams from under 6/7/8’s up to under 17’s. The club recently introduced a girls’ section, with all under-age action taking place on Sunday mornings from September through to April.

Pre-match lunch/dinner booking

Shop Join Room Hire
Shop Join Room Hire